Baked Cauliflower in White Sauce, a Family Favourite

I have been enjoying this dish at family dinners ever since I can remember. I have no idea where the recipe originated, but both my mother & grandmother used to cook it, and was great as a side dish to roasts & fish dishes. I actually had to measure my ingredients tonight so I could tell you how much I used! I am so used to just throwing everything in the pan willy nilly.

You will need:

1 small to medium cauliflower

1L milk

120g butter

4 tablespoons plain flour

Good handful of grated cheese of your choice

Pepper & salt

Cauliflower is such an underrated vegetable. I bought this lovely cauli for $2.75 at my local farmer’s outlet, where they only sell what’s in season locally for very reasonable prices. I actually bought this one two weeks ago, and found it in the fridge tonight as perfect as the day I bought it! I was very surprised; if it was a broccoli it would have been a slimy mess. But there was my cauli, perfect as can be.

Cut your cauliflower into ‘trees’, I kept mine at the larger size for this dish. You will need to steam your cauli pieces until they are tender, because they won’t get cooked for long enough in the oven. I just did mine in the microwave for about 6 minutes.

For the white sauce, you will need to warm up your milk before you can use it in the sauce. I also do this in the microwave. And you can grate the cheese while waiting for the milk :-)

Pre-heat your oven to about 180-200 degrees Celcius. I actually used the non-fan-forced setting for this dish, to get the top nice & golden.

In a large-ish saucepan, melt the butter over a medium heat. Wait until it’s nice & bubbly, then sprinkle the flour over the butter. You might want to take it off the heat at this point, until you can get it all mixed together and scraped off the bottom of the pan. Return it to the heat and cook for a full minute, being careful not to let any area of the bottom of the pot alone for too long, as it will burn.

At this point you can start adding your warm milk a little at a time. Add a bit, then stir until it’s fully combined. Then you can add some more. Warm milk added a little at a time ensures you don’t get any lumps in the sauce. Here’s what my sauce looked like after about 5 additions of milk:

It is still quite thick at this stage. Here’s what it looked like after half the milk had been added:

Nice and smooth! Keep adding milk until you reach your preferred thickness, the thicker the sauce the richer your dish will be. Season to taste with salt & pepper.

Once your sauce is ready, get your oven dish and spread out a little sauce in the bottom of it. Then put in your cauliflower pieces (used tongs so I didn’t get any excess water into the sauce).

Pour the sauce over the cauliflower so they are smothered in sauce, and sprinkle over the grated cheese.

Stick in the oven for 20-30 minutes, or until golden-brown.

Serve and enjoy!

Tags: , , ,

18 Responses to “Baked Cauliflower in White Sauce, a Family Favourite”

  1. AlexM Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Tim Says:

    I’ve never been able to make this dish properly, it always ends up too watery. Yours looks great!

  3. Patsey Manning Says:

    Yumm! I saw your response today to “Simply Recipes” – had to check this out- thanks for sharing a great recipe.

  4. lusciouslawns Says:

    Thanks Patsey! If you grow your own cauliflowers, this dish can cost next to nothing :-)

  5. Dian Bua Says:

    That’s awesome!!! I look for microwave oven for new house.And how to use it safety.I saw many web about this but your web is the best for me.Thank you.

  6. words-n-motion Says:

    Hey, thanks so very much for your delicious recipe especially for making the white sauce. Your tips were very valid, useful… now am waiting for the baking to complete, but after sticking the dish in the oven, licked the sauce off the spatula… couldn’t wait … Yummm! :) ;) Again, thanks.

  7. Franzi Says:

    YES..YES..YES!
    I was looking for this recipe, I tasted this dish in Österreich..and I LOVE IT
    THANKS ♥

  8. kylie hughes Says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe, it was awesome and so easy. I added a little nutmeg and found it to give it a slight flavour that was good with the cheese.

  9. Kris Says:

    I made this and it was awesome! Thanks!

  10. Lee Says:

    Lovely recipe

  11. peter jekic Says:

    looks great,cant wait to try it

  12. peter jekic Says:

    there aint nothing like a really good cauli bake,im slavering just thinking about it

  13. Angela Ollington Says:

    I made this last night and fried of some bacon and added it to sauce! I also sprinkled the cauli with some nutmeg before pouring the sauce over. It was a hit at dinner time! Thanks.

  14. Fara Says:

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. It was yummylicious!!!

  15. Eddie Wijesuriya Says:

    I am going to try it tonight. I have no doubt it will be good & yummy

  16. Jamie Says:

    This lovely dish is a traditional German dish and it makes cauliflower taste great. ‘Blumenkohl’ is Cauliflower in German. We have discovered some great recipes while traveling there two years ago.

  17. http://applestemcellserum.net Says:

    When someone writes an article he/she maintains the plan of a user in his/her
    brain that how a user can understand it. So that’s why this post is great. Thanks!

  18. mano rajah Says:

    mano rajah
    thevamahohary@gmail.com
    I have lot of cauliflower and I wanted make something nice for my grand kids so I saw this recipe and made it, they loved and ate.Realy useful this simple and wonderful one

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

