Mango Chicken without a Recipe

I had an idea while at university today. What about making Mango Chicken from scratch? I’ve always used bottled mango chicken sauces, which are okay enough, but I could always imagine it being better. I didn’t have a recipe for this, and I didn’t look for one. How hard can it be, I thought. Turns out, not very!

I had some mango leftover from yesterday’s post, and since it was already purreed & ready to go, all I needed was some chicken. A quick trip to the shops and I was ready to go.

You will need:

4 Chicken thigh fillets, cut into bite-sized pieces

2 Mangos, purreed or finely chopped

2 Teaspoons white vinegar

1/2 Cup tomato paste

1/2 Cup fruit chutney

1 Onion, chopped

2-3 Cloves garlic, crushed

2-3 Carrots, peeled & sliced

1 cup Green beans

2 Tablespoons mustard seeds (I used both dark & light varieties)

Other spices to taste (I used turmeric, coriander & cumin)

Salt & pepper to taste

White rice, to serve

Method:

Heat up a large frying pan with a little olive oil. Brown the chicken pieces, and add the onion. Add the mustard seeds and crushed garlic, and cook until the onions are soft (you might want to do this step with the lid on, as the mustard seeds tend to go Pop out of the pan!). Add carrots and fry for a further few minutes.

Add mango purree, chutney & tomato paste, and some water if the sauce is too thick. Add the vinegar and the other spices, and simmer on low heat while the rice is cooking. A few minutes before the rice is ready, add the beans to let them cook through.

Serve with fluffy white rice.

Since I have a tendancy to forget to taste my dishes when I am preparing them, and I sat down at the dinner table to eat with my family I really had no idea what I had made. It smelled wonderful, as all the spices & flavours seemed to work really well together. So I had a taste.

It was delicious!! I will definitely be making this again. The mustard seeds add a lovely aroma to the sauce and seem to make mini exposions in your mouth. I’m glad I added the vinegar, otherwise it would have been too sweet with the mango & the chutney. If you wanted a spicier variation you could add a teaspoon of sambal oelek to the sauce, or some freshly chopped chilli. It could easily be made vegitarian (vegan, even) with potatoes instead of the chicken, and some added zuccini and eggplant. I am really pleased my ‘made-up’ mango chicken worked out so well.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

