Finally, some vegetable gardening

Well, after my abysmal germination rates with my warm season vegetables (read: none) I got fed up & went to the garden centre up the road & bought fifty dollars worth of seedlings. I planted eggplants, capsicums, spinach, celery:

pak choi, mesclun, basil, pumpkins, squashes, cucumbers (those 3 actually sprouted for me), tomatoes:

(Gross Lisse, low acid yellow, Roma, Tommy Toe), and sowed some more radish seeds because they germinated really well for me:

The onions are doing really well, getting bigger finally:

And the raspberries are all also coming to life, you can even see the flower buds forming in the centre that will hopefully become raspberries one day!

Also high on the agenda this weekend is the weeds in the garden beds which are really starting to take over. Here is the patch I was focussing on today:

And after weeding:

Still so much to do but it will just have to wait for another day.

In other news, my dad bought us a brand new barbecue today so we had a bit of a braai (south african barbecue) with marinated chicken wings, roast potatoes, and cheese & tomato toasted sandwiches (‘toasts’) and also a nice green salad. Would have been nice to make the salad from my own produce, but you can’t have everything I suppose!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Finally, some vegetable gardening”

  1. Tim Says:

    Although my potted herbs do well, I wish I was able to plant a garden. I’m sure you’d already know this, but don’t make the mistake I did years ago of planting mint in the ground! It’s a tasty weed, but a weed nonetheless.

  2. lusciouslawns Says:

    Thanks for the advice Tim! I don’t actually have any mint at all, I think I have used it in cooking maybe twice in my life? And that wasn’t even in cooking, they were in fruit salads. Maybe you can show me more ways to use this herb? 🙂

Leave a Reply

