Hazelnut Tea Biscuits

Staying at home studying all day is driving me crazy…. So I decided to make a little treat for myself. These traditional Italian bisciuts (traditionally called Nocciolini – from the Italian word Nocciole, meaning Hazlenuts) are perfect with tea or coffee, and since I find myself consuming more of each every day, I couldn’t think of anything more perfect to make.

Recipe taken from Capalbo, Whiteman, Wright & Boggiano’s Italian Cooking Encyclopedia (Lifetime Distributers, NSW, Aust.)

Makes about 25 biscuits.

You will need:

115g Softened butter

3/4 Cup icing sugar

1Β  Cup Plain flour

3/4 Cup ground hazelnuts (usually sold as Hazel Meal)

1 egg yolk

Blanched whole hazelnuts to decorate*

Icing sugar to finish

* If, like me, you cannot find blanched hazelnuts, you can blanch your own beforehand. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius, and spread out hazelnuts on a baking tray. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the skin starts to flake off. Remove from oven and poor into a handtowel. Wrap up & leave for another 10 minutes. Once they are cool enough to handle start rubbing the skins off the nuts with the towel, most of the skin should come off easily. Of course you can skip this step altogether, I just think that nude hazelnuts look better!

To make the biscuits:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line 2 or 3 baking trays with baking paper.

Cream butter & sugar together until light & fluffy. Add egg yolk, flour & ground hazelnuts, and beat until evenly mixed. Your batter will be quite stiff & dry looking.

Take teaspoonfuls of batter and roll them between the palms of your hands to make little balls. The biscuits only flatten slightly when baked so you can put them fairly close together. Press a hazelnut into the center of each one. Bake for 10-15 mintes or until golden brown. The original recipe says to bake one tray at a time, but I’ve never had any problem putting them all in at once.

Let the biscuits cool & dust with icing sugar. Serve with coffee or tea while on a study break πŸ™‚

Tags: , , ,

11 Responses to “Hazelnut Tea Biscuits”

  1. toxobread Says:

    These nocciolini look so pretty! They’re perfect for study breaks. πŸ™‚
    I finally found ground hazelnuts a little while ago and these would be a great way to use them. Thanks!
    – Jacqueline

  2. sarah london Says:

    super fantastic photos!! wish i found more time to cook, what are you studying at uni??

  3. lusciouslawns Says:

    I’m doing a business & information systems double degree, so got another 3 years after this year! I hope you are okay after your hospital visits Sarah.
    Thanks Jacqueline also! I don’t think I have used hazel meal for any other recipe. I should probably try out a few other dishes πŸ™‚

  4. mysweetestday Says:

    cute! great pictures!

  5. CityMouse Says:

    These sound delcious!

  6. Colloquial Cook Says:

    The dough comes so easily together! I’ll bake them tomorrow morning before I go to work. I’ll let you know how they went down πŸ™‚
    I couldn’t manage to take all the little peels off the nocciole, though, they are going to look more rugged than yours! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  7. colloquial cook Says:

    They are lovely!! Thank you so much! One thing – don’t let them overcook, after a while, they collapse a little, and the nocciolina loosens up. I think 12 minutes for me was enough. Shame I don’t have icing sugar left! They are very nice this way all the same.

  8. lusciouslawns Says:

    Oh no! I haven’t ‘accidentally’ tried overcooking them, but I guess it makes sense that they would crumble up! You don’t want them to get too dry. Makes dipping into your tea a bit difficult!

  9. Battlefield 3 forums Says:

    Battlefield 3 forums…

    […]Hazelnut Tea Biscuits « Lauren’s Cooking and Gardening Journal[…]…

  10. Christmas cookies – Again! « Lauren’s Cooking and Gardening Journal Says:

    […] years or so, I make a big batch of cookies, and package them up for my workmates. Last year I made Nicciolini, the year before that I made Lavendar & Lemon, and for a few years before that I made plain […]

  11. olivia Says:

    hello . this look amazing …i gonna try but i have no butter or marg. left …is oil ok??

Leave a Reply

