A Rainy Day

This is what I was greeted with when I got up this morning:

rainy

A slow but steady drizzle & mist stuck around for the whole day, was quite pleasant really. I harvested some more bok choi, lettuce & radishes today too, which are all liking our cool moist weather we’ve been having lately. I took a few photos of some of my flowers in the rain too. My roses picked a pretty bad day to open, I couldn’t even smell them without inhaling water droplets! This is the Moss rose Henry Martin:

rose

My Campanula glomerata is still flowering, such a good value plant:

campanula

And my Kalmia latifolia “Lady Clementine Churchill” has put on a great show this year, the best so far. These small trees seem to be different to most flowering trees that I have in that they seem to develop the flower buds in the current season, rather then forming them last season to bloom this season, like Rhododendrons & fruit trees do. I guess that’s a good thing if you have a bad season one year, it won’t affect the flowering for the next year. I can’t wait for this little thing to get bigger, it’s only about half a metre tall!

kalmia

I hope it stops raining soon so I can go outside & play.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

