Scones on a Monday Afternoon

scones2

I had the day off today and felt kind of lazy after having a busy morning…so I looked through my trusty Perfect Cookbook and thought I would make some scones. This is another recipe that uses (mostly) basic ingredients, with the addition of freash cream & lemon juice.

You will need:

3 & 1/2 Cups Self-Raising Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1 Tablespoon Caster Sugar (I think I used a bit more then that though!)

60 Grams Butter

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1 Cup Milk

2 Teaspoons Lemon Juice

1 Egg

Extra milk for brushing

Method:


Preheat fan-forced oven to 200 degrees Celsius. Line 2 oven trays with baking paper, and you’ll need to prepare a lightly floured surface to knead on after you’ve mixed the dough.

Sift flour & baking powder together, and mix in sugar & salt. Add butter & rub in until it’s all little balls (I used the electric mixer but the flour went everywhere, your fingertips would probably be better).

In another bowl, add the lemon juice to the milk. Add the egg & the flour/butter/sugar mixture, and mix gently (again, I used my electric mixer, but a wooden spoon would have been better). Tip dough out onto yout floured surface, and knead lightly until dough is smooth. Flatten out (I just used my hands, but use a rolling pin if you want to) to 2-3 cms, and cut out rounds with a cookie cutter. Place a few inches apart on the baking trays, brush with milk, and bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown. My mixture made 12.5 scones.

Serve with fresh chantilly cream & raspberry jam, or butter & honey, or ginger marmalade, lazy afternoon sun & pretty pottery. Speaking of pretty pottery, here is a new purchase of mine, along with some Christmas decorations I have been making this week:

decorations

The small plate in the top photo also goes with the cup & saucer. Pretty huh?? It’s from an antique store! My first forray into antique-ing.

Well that’s all for today, hope everyone had a happy Monday!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

