Crayfish Laksa

I haven’t done a proper cooking post in aaaaaages, and I have been looking for something awesome to make since the exitement of Christmas is over. My neighbour surprised me today with a whole crayfish, fresh off the boat today and she even cooked it for me. How exciting! I haven’t had cray in years. I rang my dad & told him and he said we can have a nice cray salad tonight for dinner. But I couldn’t help but thinking that was a bit boring for this literally-once-a-year opportunity. So I did a bit of internet surfing & found a few recipes for seafood laksa, and I thought what if I just use the cray meat, and added some more veggies to make the soup more substantial? What a great idea 🙂

cray

So I took a trip to the supermarket to pick up my supplies. I decided to use a bottled laksa paste because I was so unprepared and runing out of time. I picked up some snow peas, baby corn, a bottle each of ginger & garlic purees, fresh coriander, bean shoots, a stick of lemon grass and some fresh hokkien noodles and I was all set. On a side note, can I just say how much better supermarkets are then they used to be?? Several years ago you would have never found lemongrass, baby bok choi, rhubarb, sugersnap peas, black tomatoes or shiitake mushrooms. For a town that doesn’t really have farmer’s markets or greengrocer’s, this is so encouraging to me! I never really looked that hard at all the veggies before but I did today, and I was getting ideas on how I can use them all. But, I better just concentrate on the laksa for now.

coriander

You will need:

1 large crayfish, shelled and pulled into chunks (or any seafood of your choice)

1 jar laksa paste (or make your own if you have time)

Vegetables of choice (bean shoots are traditional I believe, so I used those, and carrots, snowpeas & baby corn)

Fresh coriander, roughly chopped

1 Fresh red chili if desired, finely chopped

1 stick of lemongrass, cut into rings

1 onion, sliced

1 teaspoon each of crushed ginger & garlic

270mL coconut milk

270mL coconut cream

Hokkien noodles

Method:

I just made up my method for this recipe, so I apologize if it’s not all that traditional! In a medium pot, heat a little oil & fry the onions until tender. Add the laksa paste, and fry until fragrant. Add coconut milk & coconut cream, adding some water if it’s too thick. Bring to boil. Add the cray meat & vegetebles (but not the bean shoots), garlic, ginger & lemongrass, & salt & pepper to taste. Simmer until vegetables are tender. Meanwhile, prepare the hokkien according to the manufacturer’s directions. I always thought you just cooked the noodles with the soup but apparently not. When the soup is ready, strain the noodles & place in the soup bowls first. Add a handful of the bean shoots, and ladle the soup over them, with some of the cray & veggies. Sprinkle a generous serving of the coriander, breathe in the fragrance and enjoy the meal 🙂

cray-dish1

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Crayfish Laksa”

  1. pixen Says:

    superlicious! I love Crayfish and Laksa. With Crayfish it’s delicious with coconut milk! Well done!

Leave a Reply

