Onion Harvest!

onions2jpg

I think onions are about the slowest-maturing crop I have grown so far. I planted the tiny seedlings back in August, watched them grow so slowly it was almost imperceptable, but then fiiiiinally, after 6 months, I was looking up ‘how to cure onions’ on google. Did you know curing onions enhances their flavour? It disperses the chemicals that give onions their distinct flavours more evenly around the flesh. Also, it lets the outer layers of the onion dehydrate and wrap tightly around the flesh, giving the onions their super storage powers. Curing is cool! And mine are curing at the moment, and will be for about three weeks.

Here they are curing under my retired barbecue, appropriately laid out on old onion bags from work:

onions1

Arranged from smallest to biggest of course 🙂 Here is the count:

4 tiny

15 small

16 medium

4 large

4 jumbo

For a total of 43 onions. Not bad value for a $3 punnet of seedlings. But still only really enough to last us a couple of months. Next season I’ll be starting from seed, so I will space them out better to get more evenly sized onions. Did you know that onion size depends on how far apart they are growing? They don’t like to be too close to eachother, so to get the biggest onions you need to space them out. I need to find more space to grow more onions. Maybe I can squeeze them in between my flowers?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

