Miso soup with many ingredients

For some reason, I can’t remember now, I had an urge to make miso soup. So I went to my local Asian grocer, got the miso paste and firm tofu, but then I though, I want it to be a bit more substantial then just soup with tofu. So I got some flat rice noodles as well, but then I spied in the refrigerated section: Enoki mushrooms! I have always always wanted to try these & now was my chance. But would my miso soup be too crowded? I will risk it, I thought.

Mushrooms pack

The mushrooms were growing on what looked like a compressed block of shredded wood. Rather cool! I opened the pack & had a little taste: they were very mild, yet firm & buttery. Delicious!

Enoki

Taking photos of white things is so hard!

So, for the recipe, I prepared everything before starting the soup.

You will need:

Half a block of firm tofu, cut into half-inch cubes

2-3 tablespoons of miso paste (according to taste)

1 scallion, sliced into rings

The optional ingredients:

Enoki mushrooms

Pre-warmed noodles

Method (probably not very authentically prepared but it turned out great):

Heat up some water in a saucepan (depending on how many servings you want). Take miso paste & disolve in the water just before it reaches boiling point. Add pre-warmed noodles (I just poured some boiling water over mine), tofu and mushrooms, and simmer for a few minutes until everything is heated through. Serve into large bowls, sprinkle with the sliced scallion & enjoy 🙂

miso

As you can see I opted for more solid ingredients then soup!! But it was delicious and I will definitely make it again. Might just go for the simpler version next time, accompanied by some plain rice as a “diet dinner’ or something!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

