My Neglected Garden

Well, my busy uni schedule this year has taken its toll on my garden (and this blog…), but I took a stroll around the garden today and spotted a few lovelies in amongst the weeds.

I’m really pleased with this little climbing rose “Lorraine Lee”. Its only two years old & has reached the deck railing already! Its a few metres off the ground too. Its got a nice sprinkling of fragrant pink blooms this year, and its bringing some much needed colour to my bare deck at the moment:

These tiny little Bleeding Hearts (Dicentra) are slowly colonising my shady area next to my workshop. I love their ferny foliage and the way the blooms tremble in the breeze:

This Moss Rose always fascinates me! I love watching it come to life each Spring. The branches are extremely prickly, but the leaves are structurally interesting, and then the buds are covered in this “moss” which has a pine fragrance when you rub it. It only flowers once a year but the blooms are deep red and very fragrant which makes it worth it. Here’s a photo in the morning sun, showing the moss & prickles in great detail:

And lastly, my Raspberry patch is bigger then ever this year (don’t I say that every year??) and the blossoms are just starting to open this week:

Can’t wait to be picking bowlfuls of these! They always feature somewhere in my Christmas desserts. And just for interests sake, here’s an “aerial view” of the bed the raspberries live in. I don’t think I’m going to be able to plant anything else in this bed this year, though there is some strawberry plants hidden in there somewhere:

Look at all that lush growth! Ignore my other veggie bed, its full of weeds, spent broccoli plants and stray potatoes.

I hope to be blogging much more this Summer, because I have absolutely no Summer School this year (first time since I started my degree!!) so should have a lot more free time for gardening and blogging 😀

Happy Spring!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “My Neglected Garden”

  1. Mel Says:

    I love your raised garden beds! As soon as we finish our wood fired oven, a hot house and raised beds are on my to do list.

  2. Bells Says:

    fantastic. I long for raspberries. Must get that sorted.

  3. lusciouslawns Says:

    Mel: The sleepers are from Bunnings, as the Fork in the Road only carried treated pine ones which I wasn’t comfortable using on a veggie garden. The ones from Bunnings are Red Gum 🙂

    Bells: Maybe once your deck is finished you’ll be able to do a bit more of the rest of the garden? That’s why I love raised beds, its much easier then making a garden bed on the ground!

  4. justthreadtwiddling Says:

    As we head deeper into fall, things are wet and dreary here. It is nice to see the lush growth of spring on days like this!

  5. Tweets that mention My Neglected Garden « Lauren’s Cooking and Gardening Journal -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lauren Bertoni, Lauren Bertoni. Lauren Bertoni said: New blog post: My Neglected Garden (and blog) https://lusciouslawns.wordpress.com/2010/10/25/my-neglected-garden/ […]

Leave a Reply

